Thessaloniki Halkidiki

Halkidiki is a region of Macedonia and geographically it is the end of Central Macedonia in the Aegean sea, which penetrates deep into it, forming three elongated peninsulas, which give the region its characteristic shape, the so-called “feet of Halkidiki”.

To the northeast there is the Marmari peninsula, between Akanthios and Strymonikos gulf.

Halkidiki is a large peninsula, since it is surrounded by the Aegean Sea and only N.NW. it is united with the trunk of Macedonia through the region of Thessaloniki. In the southern part of Halkidiki, three characteristic elongated peninsulas are formed which are from west to east: the peninsula of Kassandra, the peninsula of Sithonia and the peninsula of Athos where Mount Athos is located.

The capital of the Prefecture of Halkidiki is Polygyros with 6,121 inhabitants. Karyes is the administrative center of Mount Athos. The peninsula of Halkidiki is administratively divided into the prefecture of Halkidiki and the autonomous monastic state of Mount Athos. The northern part of the peninsula belongs to the prefecture of Thessaloniki.

Find out about a full-day round-trip offer for groups of four or more, including a guided tour


Other services


Mercedes Viano